The Twisted Minds

Public Forums => General Discussion. (No religious or political subjects allowed) => Topic started by: !TTM!HeadUK on April 02, 2013, 09:05:27 AM

Title: CoD4 config, Make Call of Duty 4 Smooth
Post by: !TTM!HeadUK on April 02, 2013, 09:05:27 AM
The most important part of setting up your cod4 config (Configuration)are the console commands. To do this you need to run COD4 multiplayer, choose your account, go into options, game options, and Enable Console.

Now when you hit your ~ key the console will drop down. The settings you can get to in "options" are nothing compared to the literally thousands you have in the console. Only put the most important in your cod4 config.

/com_maxfps 125
One of the most important commands in cod4 is the FPS command, and Ill tell you why. You probably already know that more fps makes the game feel much smoother. What you might not know is that COD4 is based on the q3 engine and is designed to work at 125 FPS.What this means for you is that your going to have problems interacting with the game under 125 FPS. This can mean any thing from not being able to climb objects, or even bad hit detection during fire fights. The problem is your fps is set to 85 by default, lets fix it. Bring down you console and type "/com_maxfps 125" (with out "").

/cg_fov 80
Next up is the field of view command. FOV(field of view) is basically how much you can see on your monitor at one time. The higher the number the more you can see, which will give you a huge advantage over those who don't use this command. Default is 65 max is 80, to change it bring down your console and type "/cg_fov 80".

/r_drawdecals 1
Another helpful command is "r_drawdecals", set it to 1 for on and 0 for off. Its off by default, and don't be surprised if you turn it on then have to turn it off to get into certain servers. It basically cleans up some of the random paper and trash on the ground, and gives you an fps boost. But some servers want you to have bad fps and wont let you in unless its set to 0(note that the other commands will work fine on any server).

/maxpackets 100
Maxpackets next, this command command usually helps people who have good fps but bad hit registration. Default is 30 if your fps is set to 125 you should set maxpackets to this "/maxpackets 100".

/snaps 30
This command tells your cod4 server how many times to update positions of players, bullets ect per second. Default its 20 setting it to "/snaps 30" should make movement look smother and hits register better.

/r_drawsun 0
Disables the sun and a bunch of effects that is causes saving you a few fps.

/cg_brass 0
Turns off shell ejection. Not having to render them should send a few more fps your way, a good addition to your CoD4 config.
Title: Re: CoD4 config, Make Call of Duty 4 Smooth
Post by: Mayhem on April 03, 2013, 01:27:09 PM
nice, concise guide, Rob. Thanks for placing this info in one location...perhaps if others have additional settings, they can make a post here also. Thanks again.
Title: Re: CoD4 config, Make Call of Duty 4 Smooth
Post by: HappY on April 03, 2013, 03:31:21 PM
The Sweet Spot
i was reading this long time ago when i was very active in CoD2 and tweaking my cfg,practically CoD2 and CoD4 have a same Quake 3 engine,so 99.9% of console commands r the same  :)
so if u intrested in how q3 engine works(CoD4)read this and know everything about cod4 cfg and how to make the best,smooth cfg for your favorite game ;)
ps.todays graphic card can easily get a stabile 333 fps(its make your jump over a 10% better and in cod2 your sprint in some cases is silent)
http://bashandslash.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=51&Itemid=63 (http://bashandslash.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=51&Itemid=63)
enjoy  ;)
Title: Re: CoD4 config, Make Call of Duty 4 Smooth
Post by: HappY on April 03, 2013, 03:46:33 PM
and one cool thing for Nvidia card users(radeon cards dont have this option)
http://bashandslash.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=46&Itemid=63 (http://bashandslash.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=46&Itemid=63)
Title: Re: CoD4 config, Make Call of Duty 4 Smooth
Post by: !TTM!HuntR on April 03, 2013, 06:40:40 PM
I don't like to see the encouragement of using 333fps in Cod2 as it gives a really unfair advantage and takes away the ability to hear your enemy properly, plus it let's you jump higher and let's get to a few places which with any other fps are out of reach.
Title: Re: CoD4 config, Make Call of Duty 4 Smooth
Post by: oNyX(bRon) on April 03, 2013, 07:22:01 PM
Having said that when you play cod2 competitively and at lans 333 fps was banned as well as anywhere you could jump to such as the middle roof in Toujane or jumping through the glitch in Carentan. Sometime i find if you are just playing for fun though and not too serious reducing your settings and getting rid of the finer touches of the game to boost fps may make you play better but the game just doesnt feel as nice :) I always prefer to max out the settings and just enjoy the graphics :)
Title: Re: CoD4 config, Make Call of Duty 4 Smooth
Post by: HappY on April 03, 2013, 09:22:19 PM
I don't like to see the encouragement of using 333fps in Cod2 as it gives a really unfair advantage and takes away the ability to hear your enemy properly, plus it let's you jump higher and let's get to a few places which with any other fps are out of reach.
strange,i think u forget who give me  my first 333 cfg file,(or better who send me his cfg) before that u and a rest of OuTLawS r gangbanging me hmmmm i think half of year every day when i was running on poor 90 fps....and i never see that topic  "I don't like to see the encouragement of using 333fps..."in cod2 based clan...is that a bitch..its a great feeling when some1 drive a BMW and some1 drive sh*ti YUGO...like i said before its a same q3 engine so 333fps is a same thing in cod4,longer jump,faster movement,faster responce,and sometime silent run...and some1 still drive a sh*ti YUGO...Rob m8 u know i luv ya iven if u been baptized again   ???:D ;) :P
Mobb Deep; Survival of The Fittest (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i9ZykEJuFrI#)
Title: Re: CoD4 config, Make Call of Duty 4 Smooth
Post by: !TTM!HuntR on April 03, 2013, 10:57:39 PM
Don't get me wrong I'm no angel when it comes to jumping around where maybe i shouldn't be but it's rare, I was more just making the point that being silent annoys me xD love you too  :-*
 
Title: Re: CoD4 config, Make Call of Duty 4 Smooth
Post by: N3o on April 04, 2013, 01:50:15 PM
Silent Ninja Ftw& <3 yas all too :-*

NINJA : SILENT ASSASSIN * Final Battle (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yd_1HJbMngE#)
Title: Re: CoD4 config, Make Call of Duty 4 Smooth
Post by: pastaBake on April 07, 2013, 11:52:45 AM
Thanks for the info, found it to be very useful. Just one question what is the max. jump_height allowed on the TTM? I have a default of 39 but have doubled this to 78 just to see if it changes my current skip to a pole vault.
Will be interesting to see if the other settings improve my game play.

Title: Re: CoD4 config, Make Call of Duty 4 Smooth
Post by: HappY on April 07, 2013, 02:06:21 PM
do just things that make your graphic more smoother and better risponce ingame ...jump...im not sure..never tryd it...
Title: Re: CoD4 config, Make Call of Duty 4 Smooth
Post by: !TTM!HeadUK on May 08, 2013, 06:35:50 AM
Glad you found it Dave and it may help you improve, but it didnt stop me stabbing you loads of times on broadcast last night :D.
Title: Re: CoD4 config, Make Call of Duty 4 Smooth
Post by: Mongrel2 on May 10, 2013, 06:24:09 AM
Now this is great, relevant information to help us all get more competitive and better at COD4.  Thanks to all from the great ignoramus...Mongrel2 loves this shizza!
Title: Re: CoD4 config, Make Call of Duty 4 Smooth
Post by: !TTM!HeadUK on July 29, 2013, 12:33:08 AM
If you want to tweak some graphics to increase your FPS in the game, use the console by pressing "~" button then type this commands.

cg_drawfps 1
diplays fps in top right corner

cg_drawlagometer 1
draw your Lagometer on screen

com_maxfps 125
(One of the most important commands in cod4 is the FPS command, and Ill tell you why. You probably already know that more fps makes the game feel much smoother. What you might not know is that COD4 is based on the q3 engine and is designed to work at 125 FPS.What this means for you is that your going to have problems interacting with the game under 125 FPS. This can mean any thing from not being able to climb objects, or even bad hit detection during fire fights. The problem is your fps is set to 85 by default, lets fix it. Bring down you console and type com_maxfps 125. If you want to remove the limit, type com_maxfps 0.

cg_fov 80
Next up is the field of view command. FOV(field of view) is basically how much you can see on your monitor at one time. The higher the number the more you can see, which will give you a huge advantage over those who don't use this command. Default is 65 max is 80, to change it bring down your console and type "cg_fov 80".

r_drawdecals 1
Another helpful command is "r_drawdecals", set it to 1 for on and 0 for off. Its off by default, and don't be surprised if you turn it on then have to turn it off to get into certain servers. It basically cleans up some of the random paper and trash on the ground, and gives you an fps boost. But some servers want you to have bad fps and wont let you in unless its set to 0(note that the other commands will work fine on any server).

maxpackets 100
Maxpackets next, this command command usually helps people who have good fps but bad hit registration. Default is 30 if your fps is set to 125 you should set maxpackets to this "/maxpackets 100".

snaps 30
This command tells your cod4 server how many times to update positions of players, bullets ect per second. Default its 20 setting it to "/snaps 30" should make movement look smother and hits register better.

r_drawsun 0
Disables the sun and a bunch of effects that is causes saving you a few fps.

cg_brass 0
Turns off shell ejection. Not having to render them should send a few more fps your way, a good addition to your CoD4 config.

cl_packetdup 1
Duplicates packets send between player and server - players with a good connection and no packet loss should use 0, players with packet loss should use a higher number (0-5) most players use 1-2

sm_enable 0
Turns off unique Shadows ingame, it boosts FPS more than most commands

r_multigpu 1
can add more FPS

r_cachemodellighting 1
can add more FPS

r_cacheSmodellighting 1
can add more FPS

r_aaAlpha 0
remove the anti-aliasing / smudge effects, this can free up more FPS also

r_texfiltermipmode 2
Turns it to bilinear filtering, which should give you the best fps

r_rendererPreference 0
to use Shader Model 2.0 instead of 3.0 which will increase fps for those people using old videocards

Now Type...
/vid_restart

You're done... enjoy! ;)
Title: Re: CoD4 config, Make Call of Duty 4 Smooth
Post by: ffr3ds on July 29, 2013, 06:13:54 AM
This is really useful as much to put the changes as understanding thx boss
Title: Re: CoD4 config, Make Call of Duty 4 Smooth
Post by: OcG.Sizza on July 29, 2013, 02:19:17 PM
com_maxfps 125
(One of the most important commands in cod4 is the FPS command, and Ill tell you why. You probably already know that more fps makes the game feel much smoother. What you might not know is that COD4 is based on the q3 engine and is designed to work at 125 FPS.What this means for you is that your going to have problems interacting with the game under 125 FPS. This can mean any thing from not being able to climb objects, or even bad hit detection during fire fights. The problem is your fps is set to 85 by default, lets fix it. Bring down you console and type com_maxfps 125. If you want to remove the limit, type com_maxfps 0.

This isn't correct:
CoD4 is designed on a modified Quake 3 engine. It's not designed to work at any specific FPS.
However,
Quote
There were two significant bugs with id Software's Quake 3 engine.
 
The one that interests us here produces an unintended style of play. It is a bug that involves a numerical rounding error that occurs in the calculation of a player’s movement.
 
As players move from frame to frame, rounding errors add up and will in some cases allow players to jump slightly higher and farther than is normally possible. This latter technique is known as strafe jumping. In later patches to Quake 3, id Software attempted to fix the bug but this gave player movement a jerky feel to it and for this reason, strafe jumping remains in Quake 3.

Because of this bug, a Sweet-Spot occurs at the Max possible FPS Divided by an integer.
1000/1 = 1000
1000/2 = 500
1000/3 = 333
1000/4 = 250
1000/5 = 200
1000/6 = 166
1000/7 = 142
1000/8 = 125
1000/9 = 111
1000/10 = 100
1000/11 = 90
1000/12 = 83
1000/13 = 76
1000/14 = 71
1000/15 = 66
1000/16 = 62
1000/17 = 58
1000/18 = 55

The most common of which are bold. The reason these are common is due to there benefits to gameplay.
I.E Jumper higher, further etc.

Read more here:
http://bashandslash.com/index.php?Itemid=63&id=51&option=com_content&task=view (http://bashandslash.com/index.php?Itemid=63&id=51&option=com_content&task=view)
http://www.codjumper.com/fpstips.php (http://www.codjumper.com/fpstips.php)
http://www.codjumper.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=55&t=12464 (http://www.codjumper.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=55&t=12464)

Hope this clear it up a bit. (It's not even the full story - Theres a lot of connection between MaxPackets and MaxFps to watch out for)
Title: Re: CoD4 config, Make Call of Duty 4 Smooth
Post by: N3o on July 29, 2013, 02:46:23 PM
Simon,u lyrical gangsta u 8)  lol
Title: Re: CoD4 config, Make Call of Duty 4 Smooth
Post by: yogi on July 29, 2013, 02:56:18 PM
I've got a better suggestion....

Switch the power button...load game and play...xD

There is no substitute for good old fashioned game time

Title: Re: CoD4 config, Make Call of Duty 4 Smooth
Post by: OcG.Sizza on July 29, 2013, 03:11:12 PM
I've got a better suggestion....

Switch the power button...load game and play...xD

There is no substitute for good old fashioned game time

I personally find the game completely unplayable with stock settings, Its like plugging in a mouse and keyboard to an Xbox or PS and playing. Almost Unplayable.
Title: Re: CoD4 config, Make Call of Duty 4 Smooth
Post by: yogi on July 29, 2013, 05:13:02 PM
I find when huntr neo and rag is on its unplayable...xD

On a more serious note...I think the difference between bad and good settings is minimal

I really do think some people look into it to much....unless you have the settings totally sc**wed up that is

Imo
Title: Re: CoD4 config, Make Call of Duty 4 Smooth
Post by: OcG.Sizza on July 29, 2013, 06:24:45 PM
First video I came across on Youtube - demonstrates the point quite well

30FPS/60FPS/250FPS direct comparison (shooting, movement) (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eI99_5DQjuY#ws)
Title: Re: CoD4 config, Make Call of Duty 4 Smooth
Post by: causa45 on September 09, 2013, 03:57:26 PM
Glad for the FOV and FPS tip, thanks!
Title: Re: CoD4 config, Make Call of Duty 4 Smooth
Post by: !TTM!$hiVa on April 19, 2016, 06:08:21 PM
Alright, times have changed so i was wondering how many of you own/have recently purchased/thinking about buying 144 Hz monitor? It makes a huge difference/a big advantage in online fps gaming they say (smoother fps,no input lag/no screen tearing etc.)..?

https://youtu.be/928VyYQxKKo (https://youtu.be/928VyYQxKKo)
https://youtu.be/2tAq6-7Ldic (https://youtu.be/2tAq6-7Ldic)
https://youtu.be/U-q3u4dS8qA (https://youtu.be/U-q3u4dS8qA)
Title: Re: CoD4 config, Make Call of Duty 4 Smooth
Post by: yogi on April 19, 2016, 07:56:37 PM
3 years on, and I'll still go back to you previous posts....no substitute for game time  ;D
SimplePortal 2.3.6 © 2008-2014, SimplePortal