The Twisted Minds

Public Forums => Helpdesk => Topic started by: Scotty on February 14, 2018, 12:49:56 PM

Title: Post your computer specs here (Help needed)
Post by: Scotty on February 14, 2018, 12:49:56 PM
Ok first off I can't brag about my computers as they are a pile of shite. I simply can't afford a new one as like all of us we have bills to pay. I wouldn't mind upgrading my old dual core to a better processor but the problem is that the computer randomly freezes then reboots a lot, I have no idea why it does this and tbh I know deep down upgrading the tower is rather pointless but if someone can offer any ideas why it crashes then fire away. All I know is that it's not memory problem, I have never changed thermal paste since purchased so could this be the problem?

I have posted picture of my computer specs

(https://preview.ibb.co/fBCR5n/My_Crappy_Computers_1.jpg) (https://ibb.co/hjozQn)
(https://preview.ibb.co/dC4HBS/My_Crappy_Computers_2.jpg) (https://ibb.co/mfb8J7)
(https://preview.ibb.co/fJ9ZrS/My_Crappy_Computers_3.jpg) (https://ibb.co/hrk7BS)
Title: Re: Post your computer specs here (Help needed)
Post by: !TTM!HeadUK on February 14, 2018, 01:32:05 PM
The thermal paste will go hard after a time and lose its integrity thus causing the cpu to overheat and shut down, so best change the paste first to eliminate that from the problem cause :)
Title: Re: Post your computer specs here (Help needed)
Post by: Scotty on February 15, 2018, 03:39:15 PM
I'll try some Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut paste next time I make a purchased on amazon or whatever then try to apply it myself.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Thermal-Grizzly-Kryonaut-Compound-Compounds/dp/B011F7W3LU
Title: Re: Post your computer specs here (Help needed)
Post by: !TTM!HeadUK on February 15, 2018, 04:41:46 PM
Its honestly a 5 minute task Scott, and unlike doing the same task on any AMD CPU there's no chance of you ripping the CPU out of it's socket or bending the pins.    Your heat sink/fan will be held down by either 4 screws or 4 retaining pins which expand and secure to the motherboard.  If the heat sink is held down by 4 screws then undo them and lift the heat sink just clear of the CPU retaining clip.  Wipe off any old hardened paste from the top of the CPU and base of the heat sink then apply the new paste into the center of the CPU.  No need to spread the paste over the CPU, beings the pressure of the screws or retaining pins will do that  Now place the heat sink/fan into the correct position with the screw holes lining up, then tighten each one up a couple of turns.  If your happy the screws have located in the CPU back plate properly, then tighten each screw up fully.   Job done  :).
Title: Re: Post your computer specs here (Help needed)
Post by: !TTM!HeadUK on February 16, 2018, 04:20:53 AM
I have a packard-bell-imedia-s3840 base unit your welcome to have Scott, but its not the i3, i5 or i7 version. However its really clean and very compact with 6 gig of ram, and a 1 terabye hard drive that's been partitioned by me in half to give 2 x 500 gig drives. I've cleaned out all the dust from the case/heastsink/fan and re applied arctic paste to the CPU, so its ready to rock and roll ;D. 

There's a cd/dvd rom in it (which i put in) and it has the pentium R G530 dual core cpu in it which is running at 2 x 2.7 ghz. its has the lga1155 socket H2 motherboard in it as well, so it will take any of the older 1st or 2nd gen i3,i5 or i7 socket H2 based CPU's.  The only thing it needs is a 1 or 2 gig low profile pcie based graphic card to run cod 4 perfectly, beings its running on the onboard GPU at the moment. It's also has windows 10 and microsoft office installed on it.  Ooh and its has a decent wifi card installed it as well, so no need for any internet lan cable, and a HDMI onboard graphic port to connect to any size modern TV :).

The postage cost will be about £40 via parcel post 48 Scott, so that's all it will cost you if you want it :).
     
https://www.reevoo.com/p/packard-bell-imedia-s3840
Title: Re: Post your computer specs here (Help needed)
Post by: !TTM!DonPietro 比利 on February 16, 2018, 09:23:06 AM
Very nice of you Rob mate :)
Title: Re: Post your computer specs here (Help needed)
Post by: Scotty on February 16, 2018, 10:08:10 AM
Thanks for the kind offer but I'll first see how it goes with the thermal paste, if it's stable then I might get a phenom quad core processor off the bay for around 20 to 30 quid as they often sell for a very low price.
Title: Re: Post your computer specs here (Help needed)
Post by: !TTM!HeadUK on February 16, 2018, 11:46:24 PM
That's fine Scott and glad i could help :).
Title: Re: Post your computer specs here (Help needed)
Post by: .OcG|spoonY on April 27, 2018, 10:16:38 AM
Ok first off I can't brag about my computers as they are a pile of shite. I simply can't afford a new one as like all of us we have bills to pay. I wouldn't mind upgrading my old dual core to a better processor but the problem is that the computer randomly freezes then reboots a lot, I have no idea why it does this and tbh I know deep down upgrading the tower is rather pointless but if someone can offer any ideas why it crashes then fire away. All I know is that it's not memory problem, I have never changed thermal paste since purchased so could this be the problem?

I have posted picture of my computer specs

(https://preview.ibb.co/fBCR5n/My_Crappy_Computers_1.jpg) (https://ibb.co/hjozQn)
(https://preview.ibb.co/dC4HBS/My_Crappy_Computers_2.jpg) (https://ibb.co/mfb8J7)
(https://preview.ibb.co/fJ9ZrS/My_Crappy_Computers_3.jpg) (https://ibb.co/hrk7BS)

check the event viewer mate if this is still a problem
Title: Re: Post your computer specs here (Help needed)
Post by: !TTM!HeadUK on April 27, 2018, 06:20:00 PM
Cheers Spoony for your advice, but did you notice the two images show two different cpu's with different amounts of ram. So which one of these cpu's is causing the problem Scott?. The AMD Athlon 64 will only run on the AM2 M/BOARD and the A4 processor runs on the AM2+ board. I have a A4-6300 CPU spare Scott if you wanna try that, but it only runs on the AM2+ board  :).     
Title: Re: Post your computer specs here (Help needed)
Post by: |VsOp|ToMMy on May 01, 2018, 11:59:08 PM
Operating system: Sinclair BASIC
Manufacturer: Timex Group USA, Inc.
Media: Cassette tape, 3-inch floppy disk on Spectrum +3
Title: Re: Post your computer specs here (Help needed)
Post by: !TTM!DonPietro 比利 on May 04, 2018, 10:01:27 AM
Operating system: Sinclair BASIC
Manufacturer: Timex Group USA, Inc.
Media: Cassette tape, 3-inch floppy disk on Spectrum +3

Beast!  ;D
Title: Re: Post your computer specs here (Help needed)
Post by: |VsOp|ToMMy on May 04, 2018, 02:08:09 PM
 ;D ;D ;D
Title: Re: Post your computer specs here (Help needed)
Post by: |VsOp|ToMMy on May 10, 2018, 11:40:00 AM
https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B013BC7IR6?ref_=pfb_id2lj42an887a84lgee76d0d162&tag=hydfbook-21&ascsubtag=pfb-P11-V01-O3-16wt4w-QDSK70
Title: Re: Post your computer specs here (Help needed)
Post by: !TTM!DonPietro 比利 on May 11, 2018, 10:28:56 PM
bloody hell 72 quid lol still, if I was minted, I think I'd actually go for one.
Title: Re: Post your computer specs here (Help needed)
Post by: |VsOp|ToMMy on May 12, 2018, 04:06:56 AM



Pros
 Gaming control interface
 Allows ROM loading
 Easy to setup and use
 1000 games pre-loaded

Cons
 No HD output
 Build quality isn't fantastic
 Doesn't have a full QWERTY keyboard

Looks good but think I would soon get bored with it lol
Title: Re: Post your computer specs here (Help needed)
Post by: !TTM!HeadUK on May 13, 2018, 08:43:17 PM
http://speccy.piriform.com/results/YSx5jIBlK0FV8heltTmKj4y
Title: Re: Post your computer specs here (Help needed)
Post by: !TTM!DonPietro 比利 on May 13, 2018, 09:16:38 PM
You should upgrade to the Sinclair ZX Spectrum Rob ;D - nice specs mate!
Title: Re: Post your computer specs here (Help needed)
Post by: !TTM!HeadUK on May 17, 2018, 08:32:36 AM
That's just the specs of the gaming rig i'm using at the moment Billy, which is the original pc that Daz Viper did some work on about 4 years ago at one of the OCG Lan parties  :).  I have another decent gaming rig, two dell i5 laptops and two normal pc's in my home at this moment lol. The pc shop owner is using one of my 8 core AMD rigs as well at this moment, beings he hasnt bothered buying the bits to put his own decent pc together.   There's a couple of spectrum and a few other early type game consoles in the shop, but i havent tried out any of them.  Too damn slow for my liking  ;D.
Title: Re: Post your computer specs here (Help needed)
Post by: ViP3R on May 18, 2018, 02:40:00 AM
That's just the specs of the gaming rig i'm using at the moment Billy, which is the original pc that Daz Viper did some work on about 4 years ago at one of the OCG Lan parties  :).  I have another decent gaming rig, two dell i5 laptops and two normal pc's in my home at this moment lol. The pc shop owner is using one of my 8 core AMD rigs as well at this moment, beings he hasnt bothered buying the bits to put his own decent pc together.   There's a couple of spectrum and a few other early type game consoles in the shop, but i havent tried out any of them.  Too damn slow for my liking  ;D.

WOW Rob you still got the old girl ! good man
Title: Re: Post your computer specs here (Help needed)
Post by: !TTM!DonPietro 比利 on May 20, 2018, 01:50:00 AM
You got enough pc's Rob mate ;) hahaha I know the feeling though, I have 2 in the living room and three in the hallway needing to be sorted out but I haven't had the time to do so lol they'll probs still be there in 10 years haha!

These days I wonder why the hell I have a gaming pc because I just don't game now but I can't downgrade to a browsing pc lol but they kind of feel like a waste!

Hows Rob, hows Daz? hope your both well :)
Title: Re: Post your computer specs here (Help needed)
Post by: ViP3R on May 20, 2018, 06:44:16 PM
You got enough pc's Rob mate ;) hahaha I know the feeling though, I have 2 in the living room and three in the hallway needing to be sorted out but I haven't had the time to do so lol they'll probs still be there in 10 years haha!

These days I wonder why the hell I have a gaming pc because I just don't game now but I can't downgrade to a browsing pc lol but they kind of feel like a waste!

Hows Rob, hows Daz? hope your both well :)

Iam doing great bill hope that young baby is keeping you awake lol
Title: Re: Post your computer specs here (Help needed)
Post by: !TTM!DonPietro 比利 on May 20, 2018, 10:43:16 PM
Glad to hear that Daz mate. lol Yes he sure is hahaha just a bit ;)
Title: Re: Post your computer specs here (Help needed)
Post by: !TTM!HeadUK on May 21, 2018, 11:00:47 AM
Yeah still got the old girl Daz, and its still good for new games that are coming out. Below is you Daz watching over the repair being done to my old girl :D.

(http://i1003.photobucket.com/albums/af153/robertsandalls/lan%20party%20april%202014/th_20130406_162803.jpg) (http://s1003.photobucket.com/user/robertsandalls/media/lan%20party%20april%202014/20130406_162803.jpg.html)
Title: Re: Post your computer specs here (Help needed)
Post by: ViP3R on June 01, 2018, 06:04:38 PM
wow that picture Rob :)
Title: Re: Post your computer specs here (Help needed)
Post by: !TTM!HeadUK on June 03, 2018, 11:53:48 AM
There's loads of pictures of you on my photobucket site Daz, OOh and dont worry you know I aint gay lol  ;D ;D.
Title: Re: Post your computer specs here (Help needed)
Post by: !TTM!midNight on December 23, 2018, 11:27:52 PM
http://speccy.piriform.com/results/YSx5jIBlK0FV8heltTmKj4y

rob you have a good MB and can be upgraded  with a xeon 5675. they are very cheap. put a 30$ cooler. some overclocking. triple channel 24 Gb RAM. put a GTX 1050Ti on it. and you'll have a very good pc.

Title: Re: Post your computer specs here (Help needed)
Post by: !TTM!HeadUK on December 24, 2018, 07:29:24 PM
Shane has that pc now Middy, and is using it as a server :).
Title: Re: Post your computer specs here (Help needed)
Post by: VSOP|Twiz on December 28, 2018, 07:04:10 PM
Operating System
   Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit SP1
CPU
        AMD Phenom II X4 975   
   Deneb 45nm Technology
RAM
       16.0GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 663MHz (11-11-11-28)
Motherboard-
        ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. 970 PRO GAMING/AURA (Socket 942)   
Graphics
        S271HL (1920x1080@60Hz)
   2047MB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960 (Gigabyte)   30 °C
Storage
   3726GB Seagate ST4000DM005-2DP166 ATA Device (SATA)   
   223GB KINGSTON SV300S37A240G ATA Device (SSD)   
Optical Drives
   TSSTcorp DVD+-RW TS-H653A ATA Device
Audio
   High Definition Audio Device
Title: Re: Post your computer specs here (Help needed)
Post by: VSOP|Twiz on December 28, 2018, 07:06:28 PM
Just downloaded Farcry 5 and it won't play - says I don't meet minimum requirements????
Title: Re: Post your computer specs here (Help needed)
Post by: !TTM!HeadUK on December 28, 2018, 07:59:39 PM
Not exactly the best quad core cpu to run the game Steve, and you can buy those cpu's now for £25 to £30 secondhand.   The motherboard you have is still great though, especially if you can get hold of one of the 8 core FX processors for it. Your pc should run the game then with ease :).
 
Title: Re: Post your computer specs here (Help needed)
Post by: VSOP|Twiz on December 28, 2018, 08:07:51 PM
Cheers Rob,
Will see if I can get it changed.
Any good CPU you can recommend?
Title: Re: Post your computer specs here (Help needed)
Post by: !TTM!HeadUK on December 28, 2018, 08:10:04 PM
All these cpu's will fit your board steve, but you may need to flash the bios
   
FX-8100(FD8100WMW8KGU),2.8GHz,8C,95W,rev.B2G,AM3+      
FX-8120(FD8120FRW8KGU),3.1GHz,8C,125W,rev.B2G,AM3+      
FX-8120(FD8120WMW8KGU),3.1GHz,8C,95W,rev.B2G,AM3+   
FX-8140(FD8140WMW8KGU),3.2GHz,8C,95W,rev.B2G,AM3+   
FX-8150(FD8150FRW8KGU),3.6GHz,8C,125W,rev.B2G,AM3+   
FX-8300(FD8300WMW8KHK,3.2GHz,8C,95W,rev.C0,AM3+      
FX-8320(FD8320FRW8KHK,3.5GHz,8C,125W,rev.C0,AM3+      
FX-8320E (FD832EWMW8KHK, 3.2GHz, 8C, 95W,rev.C0,AM3+   
FX-8350(FD8350FRW8KHK,4.0GHz,8C,125W,rev.C0,AM3+   
FX-8370(FD8370FRW8KHK, 4.0GHz, 8C, L3:8M, 125W, rev.C0, AM3+   

You can pick up the FX-8370 cpu for between £65 to £80, and you wont get better than that for your board.
Title: Re: Post your computer specs here (Help needed)
Post by: VSOP|Twiz on December 28, 2018, 08:12:16 PM
Can get a " AMD FD8300WMHKBOX CPU Desktop Processor - Black (Vishera 8-Core, 3.3 GHz, Socket AM3+, 95 Watts) " for £66 on Amazon??
Suppose to be best but will is suit my motherboard?

Title: Re: Post your computer specs here (Help needed)
Post by: VSOP|Twiz on December 28, 2018, 08:13:30 PM
Can't be flashing my bios at my age
Title: Re: Post your computer specs here (Help needed)
Post by: !TTM!HeadUK on December 28, 2018, 08:54:18 PM
The AMD FD8300WMHKBOX CPU Desktop Processor will be fine Steve, and flashing the bios is dead easy now with the flash tool you can download from Asus. You can run the flash tool whilst windows 7 is still running :).

The FX-8300(FD8300WMW8KHK,3.2GHz,8C,95W,rev.C0,AM3+ cpu is in the list your motherboard will take  :).
   
Title: Re: Post your computer specs here (Help needed)
Post by: VSOP|Twiz on December 29, 2018, 03:21:30 PM
Thanks very much rob ;D